I Never Thought I’d End up in the Psych Ward, Nearly a Decade Sober | The Fix

I Never Thought I’d End up in the Psych Ward, Nearly a Decade SoberBy Sally Rubenstein 02/17/16I experienced a psychotic break with 8 years of sobriety under my belt. Turns out I’m not the only one.ShutterstockOnly a few weeks before the day that marked eight years of life without alcohol, I woke up in a locked psychiatric ward in New York City. Hardly able to move as I detoxed from the Haldol, Benadryl, and Ativan that I was shot up with to combat psychosis, I didn’t feel like I was leading a life “beyond my wildest dreams” that people in AA meetings often describe themselves as having after they stopped drinking

Source: I Never Thought I’d End up in the Psych Ward, Nearly a Decade Sober | The Fix

Leave a Reply

